People Watching: A Poem

I like to sit on sun-lit benches

In crowds full of people

But alone.

 

Nobody stays still. I watch them

Laugh, eat, run and linger

Watch them go.

 

I like to close my eyes and hear

Melting conversations

All mixed up.

 

“…merely inconsequential.”

“Ate pancakes till I threw-up…”

“…Lap-dancing…”

 

Sometimes I wonder who each one is.

I give them their own backstories.  

All made up.

 

A matador, running with bulls.

Royal princess in disguise.

Tired felon.  

 

Sometimes I see others sitting on benches.

Watching the whole world ebb and flow.

What do they see?

2 thoughts on “People Watching: A Poem

Leave a Reply

