Music and Love: 3 poems

Heart strings

I like my body when it’s with your body.

Because when it’s not, it feels too tight

I feel like a rubber band, being slowly pulled.

Like I’ve been crumpled up, then stretched.

So that someone could twang me,

Draw some noise out of my taut self.

But my body is different with your body.

You don’t have to pluck me to play music.

Your slightest touch and I hum and vibrate.

A little more pressure; I practically sing.

Bells and Whistles

I hear church bells when you speak.

You know, as a reminder.

That even if you’re a terrible, terrible person-

You still happen to be a person.

And for that I owe you basic human kindness.

They peal long and loud and low.

Don’t slap him. Don’t bitch at him. Don’t hurt him.

I wonder if you hear church bells

I hope you do.

The noise of silence

You have presence.

I always know when you’re here

Because you come with drums,

Guitar riffs and soft violin moans.

Like a one-man walking band.

 
You have presence.

I feel it when you’re gone.

In your absence, I hear silence.

Louder than a rock festival.

Leave a Reply

