End of the Year: Joys and Worries

The last few weeks of the month are emotionally confusing times. On one hand, you have the stress of finals. The urgent reminders from parents and teachers to study! (As if we could forget.) Faint nudges from guidance counsellors and colleges wondering: Have you started preparing for the SAT yet?

On one hand, this is supposed to be the Wonderland part of winter. Christmas is right around the corner and it brings with it hot cocoa, wish lists and snowflake decorations. Perhaps more tempting to those who don’t celebrate Christmas (sorry guys, all the Hindu holidays happened in October-November; nothing big until March for me) is the promise of holidays. Long days of no school where you can sleep in late,  stay huddled under blankets and read in relative freedom. The last few weeks of the year means trying out all the

The last few weeks of the year means trying out all the recipes you meant to this year- sheer awesomeness in the form of pillow cookies and beetroot soup. It also means preparing for New Year’s- writing up lists of resolutions and stealthily sleeping an hour or so later every day. But now that the end of the year is here, you’re reminded of what you didn’t do this year.

On the second hand of this crazy monster, you have the stress of finals. The urgent reminders from parents and teachers to study! (As if we could forget.) Faint nudges from guidance counsellors and colleges wondering: Have you started preparing for the SAT yet? (Don’t even get me started on the perils of standardised testing!)

I am a regular old stooge this holiday season. A grinch with a heart three sizes too small.
I’m sorry, I’m being cynical and a downer. My finals didn’t go as well as I wanted them to and I have a lot to do over the holidays (so much for free time).  Plus, I am reading a depressing book (The Prince By Nicolo Machiavelli) which assures me that man-kind is pretty much just blathering sheep which are easily manipulated.

But I wish you all a happy holiday. Good luck on Finals if you’re still giving them.
…And if I have to be honest with myself, this year was more good than bad. See- I’m already getting into the spirit of things! Next time you hear from me, I’ll be more cheerful and fun. Promise!

 

Leave a Reply

