NaNoWriMo: Update 1

Today is November 1 2015. That means it’s the day after Halloween, it’s 6 days before the SAT and it’s the beginning of NaNoWriMo. No doubt we know which one is the most important.

 Brag time: I already have 4,132 words.
Fear Time: Let’s hope I can keep the momentum going.

Here’s a random paragraph that I wrote today for the to-be-novel I insist on calling Blood, Bone and Ashes:

At sixteen, I was a fool. A lovely fool with tumbling sunshine hair and long-lashed blue eyes. Innocent. Sheltered. Protected.  I was hopelessly naive, a cloistered princess in all but title.  I came to the castle wearing a floaty dress of white silk and a matching frothy veil.  Beneath it, my eyes were dewy and my golden hair was bound by a silver circlet.  And until the moment my lord husband took my white gloved hands, lifted my veil and kissed me dispassionately, I thought he’d take one look at me and fall deeply, madly in love.

Favorite lines that I wrote today?

“She needs to know how to survive this court, how to smile prettily, how to marry a powerful man- all the lessons you learnt as a girl,” he told me.

“Of course, Milord.”
How to turn iron into silver, how to kill a man as he takes his first bite of dinner, how to marry a man who regards her as nothing but a pretty fool, I added sarcastically in my head.

One thought on “NaNoWriMo: Update 1

  1. Pingback: 10 tips to 50K: The longer version | Plot Holes be Gone

Leave a Reply

