Six of Crows: A Book Review

“You love trickery.”
“I love puzzles. Trickery is just my native tongue.”

Book: Six of Crows (Six of Crows #1)

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Six of Crows (Six of Crows, #1)

Blurb:

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz’s crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

My thoughts:

I knew this was going to be awesome.  But I failed to aniticipate exactly how awesome this was going to be….

Initially I was a bit skeptical about the multiple POV’s (We all know how often that turns out well-never).
6 characters? I was afraid I was going to have to take notes to remember who was who. I even got all prepared with a notebook and a pen.  Turns out it was unnecessary. Totally unnecessary.

All 6 characters had very distinct personalities with very different voices and backgrounds. Not once did I confuse Jesper (the sharp-shooter) with Kaz (the master-thief). Nina (the ex-soldier) was very different from Ingrid (the ex-prostitute).

I might go as far as to say: Six of Crows is the best multiple POV book I’ve seen. Part of it is the names. Very diverse names which make it clear the characters come from seperate countries.  I mean, obviously there were some people who’s point of view I was looking forward to (Oh My God! Ingrid! and Kaz!). But there was no one I wanted to skip over and I count that a huge success.

The characters in this book are so screwed up, I’m lost for words.  Despite that (or maybe because of it), I related with them so well. I know, I know- wouldn’t it be hard to relate to a compulsive gambler, an ex-prostitute, a member of a rebel army, a traitor, a con-man and a rich boy who ran away from home? (Hint: The answer is no.) In fact they were so unique, I did not expect them to work so well together. I expected rivalries, tension, arguments, fist-fights- and those did happen. But some very strong, realistic bonds of friendship evolved. 

Favorite character? Hands-down, it has to be Ingrid. She was a powerful character who packs a punch. With a nickname like Wraith, an affinity for parkour and skill with knives- admit it, you expected a cocky bitch.

She was the Wraith-the only law that applied to her was gravity, and some days she defied that, too.

And maybe she would have been an awesome as a cocky bitch, but I loved her for her vulnerability. Kidnapped by slavers, forced into prostitution -and still she is so strong. If you provoke her, she will probably cut you into tiny pieces. but at the same time, she’s extremely  and just wholesomely good (if you can be that while stabbing someone in the chest). 

Characters I crush on? Kaz just moved to the top of my list. In real life, he would probably drive me to tears of frusturation with the way he holds his cards close to his chest (also, he’s a bastard- and takes pride in calling himself that). But as a book character, his intensity appealed to me. 

“He’d broken his leg dropping down from the rooftop. The bone didn’t set right, and he’d limped ever after. So he’d found himself a Fabrikator and had his cane made. It became a declaration. There was no part of him that was no broken, that had not healed wrong, and there was no part of him that was not stronger for having been broken.”

His reckless ability to stay three steps ahead of everyone else was…sexy.

If we’re still talking about romance, know that I am on the fence with MatthiasXNina.  Very violent, very intense love affair. Breathlessly passionate one moment and vengeful the next. They hate each other’s people and sometimes they hate the fact that they love each other.  I think this sums it up:

“And what did you do, Matthias? What did you do to me in you dreams?”
“Everything,” he said, as he turned to go, “Everything.”

I thought I would dislike Jesper and Wayne. Turns out that’s impossible.

Wylan drew himself up. “I may not have had your … education, but I’m sure I know plenty of words that you don’t.”
“Also the proper way to fold a napkin and dance a minuet. Oh, and you can play the flute. Marketable skills, merchling. Marketable skills.”
“No one dances the minuet any more,” grumbled Wylan.

This book is dark. The writing is poetic.  It’s character-centric. It has a heist! Honestly, the worst thing about this book is that it’s sequel, Empire of Crows, comes out next year.
September 22nd 2016. I’ve already marked my calendar.

Overall Rating: 5/5

Quotables:

“Shame holds more value than coin ever can.”

“We are all someone’s monster.”

When they took everything from you, you found a way to make something from nothing.

She wouldn’t wish love on anyone. It was the guest you welcomed and then couldn’t be rid of.

“I have been made to protect you. Only in death will I be kept from this oath.

 

2 thoughts on “Six of Crows: A Book Review

  1. Pingback: Truthwitch: A Book Review | Plot Holes be Gone

Leave a Reply

