Music and Me

“Without music, life would be a mistake.”
-Nietzche

Music, music, music. I can’t believe I’ve never posted anything about music because it’s a topic I care deeply about. Music is something which has intertwined itself in my life. I wake to it, I listen to it on my way to school and then at school. I tap my fingers against the bike’s handles to a tune that’s stuck in my head and I do Maths homework to it. I read to it and when the song matches the mood in a book, I cry to it.

People say that scent is the most powerful sense that humans have. It’s the one that links you effortlessly to a certain memory or a time. Supposedly, the smell of Vanilla will drag you back to Grandma’s kitchen and the smell of petrol will take you to a gas station you stopped at in the middle of THE road trip. But I have a much more powerful and nostalgic reaction to music.

Music is a total constant. That’s why we have such a strong visceral connection to it, you know? Because a song can take you back instantly to a moment, or a place, or even a person. No matter what else has changed in your or the world, that one song says the same, just like that moment.
-Sarah Dessan, Just Listen

I’ll admit it: my music habits are somewhat strange.  I listen to an artist, fall in love with them and then associate them to a genre of books I’m currently reading. When I’m done reading that genre, I move onto a new artist. Today it’s Halsey and All Time Low, but I think I’m moving on to Muse and the Offspring. A couple of weeks ago it was Sia and Panic! At the Disco. And before that it was Crown the Empire. (Thank you Pandora, you’re awesome!) By moving on, I mean I’ll stop playing their albums on repeat. But if I hear a snatch of one of their songs on the radio or in a store, I’ll involuntarily be dragged to a time when they were my number one, and I was obsessed with a certain book. I’ll smile a little and when the song fades away, I’ll wish that the song was longer

I associate different characters to different songs, and different genres to different artists.
For example, My Song Knows What You Did in the Dark is definitely Katniss’s song, and Fall Out Boy just goes so well with dystopia. Don’t you think?
I can’t listen to any song in Krewella’s ‘Get Wet’ album without thinking of Harry Potter fanfiction and Pink is Discovery/light New Adult.

Not only do I read to music, I write to music as well. What can I say? It sets the tone for what I’m writing. I’ll listen to a song, type out any lyrics that jump to me. Then when the song’s over, I’ll write whatever comes to me. The next poem I’m posting will be from Halsey’s Young Gods.

These lines,

You know we’re gonna be legends

If there’s a light at the end, it’s just the sun in your eyes

Gave me ‘Immortalise You’. Yes, it’s a part of Gods and other Greek things. I’ll post a part of it now.

I’ll tell the Gods to give you back.

I’ll beg them, bargain with them.

And then you’ll live forever.

Amongst sea foam or bright-stars,  
Wherever you want to live.

However you want to live.

But Godsdamnit all, you will live.

I come from a family that doesn’t really care about music. I mean, it’s not like they hate it- but they could leave it as easily as they take it. I don’t think I can imagine a world without music. It would be silent, I suppose. Less beautiful.

One thought on “Music and Me

Leave a Reply

