Best Books of 2015 Awards (We’re Halfway Through!)

It’s July now, which means half of 2015 is up. All I can say is 2015 has been an absolutely fantastic year for YA with a whole bunch of great books coming out. I’ve been shamelessly working my way through them, and I’ve fallen in love with a great proportion of them. But there are some which deserve a special mention.
(Note: This only contains books from the young adult genre that were published for the first time in 2015)


Best Debut:

Book: Ember in the Ashes (Ember in the Ashes#1)
Author: Sabaa Tahir
An Ember in the Ashes (An Ember in the Ashes, #1)

Comments:
Possibly my favorite book of the year. Gorgeous cover and worldbuilding. Not to mention that the plot is awesome. So glad a sequel’s coming. Not so glad it won’t be here ’til 2016.


Best Dystopian:

Book: Red Queen (Red Queen#1)
Author: Victoria Aveyard

Red Queen (Red Queen, #1)

Comments:
Ooh! Betrayals abound. With awesome superpowers! This book reminds me of Red Rising- possibly better. Too bad I have a thing for the bad guy.


Best Fantasy:

Book: A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1)
Author: Sarah J Maas
A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1)

 Comments:
Super hot! Fantasy! Faeries! I don’t know what more to say. Another contender for my favorite book of the year.  Read my review here.


Best Romance:

Book: The Start of Me and You
Author: Emory Lord

The Start of Me and You

Comments:
Cry-fest. Amazing friendships! (one that evolves into something more). My role model in relationships. Read my review of it here.

 Maybe this is unfair. But I had to tie this category.

Other Book: I’ll Meet You There
Author: Helen Demtrios

I'll Meet You There

 Comments:
This book was so wickedly raw and powerful, I had trouble breathing after i was done. It’s surprisingly powerful and relatable.


Best Mind-Screwer:

Book: Made You Up
Author: Francessa Zappia

Made You Up
Comments:
This book screwed with my mind. Love the crew in the book and the *ahem* spiciness of the main character. Read my review of the book here.


So those are the books I loved this year. I’m a bit disappointed I don’t have anything for the sci-fi category or for the historical fiction category. Never fear, I have books on my TBR list which (I hope) I will love.
What do you think about the list? Would you replace anything? Do you have any nominees?

One thought on “Best Books of 2015 Awards (We’re Halfway Through!)

  1. Pingback: Top 5 of 2015 | Plot Holes be Gone

Leave a Reply

