Blood Warrior: A Book Review

Book: Blood Warrior (The Alexa Montgomery Saga #1)
Author: H. D. Morgan

Blood Warrior (The Alexa Montgomery Saga #1)

Blurb:

When her home is attacked by murderous vampires, 17-year-old Alexa is forced to leave her mother for dead in order to save her sister. She soon learns that she is the last known member of an elite race of supernatural Warriors, and is thrust into a world full of vampires and werewolves who all seem to regard her as some sort of savior. Meanwhile, Alexa battles a monster within herself that seeks to gain control; a monster that seeks blood.

The hidden city she finds herself in appears perfect, but Alexa’s instincts tell her that all is not right within its walls. When she is asked to attend a school of fighters, whose exams consist of gladiator-style competitions, she must decide who she can trust among the smiling faces. And, when she meets Kayden, a vampire she feels undeniably drawn to, she must decide if she can trust herself.

My thoughts:

I picked up this book because of the blurb, and I am sorely regretting it now. 


As a self-pub, I wasn’t expecting too much by way of grammar- but even then, a lot of this book is composed of some very awkwardly phrased sentences. I mean, why use one word when two will do?


Even Nelly, whom I loved more than anything, and who I enjoyed being around more than anyone, didn’t make me happy the way Kayden did. He made me happy in a very different way, a way that made me feel balanced and complete.

That’s a lot of words (and not even pretty ones) to say that she likes Kayden and that he makes her happy.

The world-building was just a dump of information. It’s fairly unique, but I couldn’t enjoy it at all because it was glopped over me at one time. Lamia’s, searhers, werewolfs, warriors- what? This could have been a lot of fun, if Morgan had gradually paced it all out, but it was poorly executed and I was left confused. 

I couldn’t enjoy the characters because they were emotional robots. Where is the sense of betrayal, the anger, the confusion- when the MC realises that her sister and best-friend have been hiding a secret from her, and she’s the last one to know she’s non-human?
When her mother dies- she almost forgets about it, after a day or two.
Seriously, I know she’s not human, but she doesn’t even act humane.
Sure she says she feels happy after she kills a blackbird, and she admits she feels jealous of her sister. But, it’s merely lip-service. I don’t ever see her experiencing any real emotions.
It just pisses me off that she goes through so many weird, life-changing events, and she doesn’t get mad, she doesn’t feel excited, she doesn’t get sad. She just stays in one emotional state- robotic. I think this is what got to me most. 

Another thing which really got me was the stereotyping and the total employment of cliches. There’s the fact that Alexa is a special snowflake (obviously, she doesn’t know it) who’s been mistreated her whole life. Of course, that means she’s got several hot guys vying for her attention, a lot of girls who inexplicably hate her, and a younger sister who depends on her to ‘protect’ her. Yawn. Cliche. Yawn.

Even the setting was screwed up. There was royalty and there was a boarding school. Needless to say, this confused me. It’s like the author took a bunch of idealised YA settings and mushed them all up together in the hopes of making something that would sell instantly. But it felt very transparent.

Ultimately, I had to stop reading the book.
Life’s too short to waste on such misery.

If you want any sort of character development- or even characters at all, don’t read this book

Overall Rating: 1/5

Books to Read Instead of This: A Court of Thorns and Roses, Pretty much any other book

Leave a Reply

