Organ Harvester: A Poem

You’re an organ harvester
and you take things part by part.
A nose here, an arm there;
You’ll take me apart.

It’s beyond you to care,
too much for me to expect
that the total value
you see in me
is more than just
the sum
of fragments,
of pieces,
of parts.

But I’m not an organ harvester.
Even though I’m stupid,
I’m foolish enough
to call myself a donor.
I give.
I give.
I give.

But you always take less
than what I freely offer.
As you see me as a collection.
A collection of working,
functional but ultimately just
body parts.
Instead of a fully working,
fully functional individual.

Leave a Reply

