Good Girls and Bad Girls

She’s a good girl
She’s Daddy’s favourite
He’s saved for Harvard
He know she’ll make it
She’s good at school
She’s never truant
She can speak French
I think she’s fluent

She said to me,
“Forget what you thought
‘Cause good girls are bad girls that haven’t been caught.
-Good Girls, 5 Seconds of Summer

Oh God! I love 5 SOS but they’re pretty close to messing it all up for ‘Good Girls’ all over the world.

I’m pretty close to a good girl: I do my homework. I don’t get in trouble at school. I’m socially aware.  I listen to my parents. I don’t date. I don’t dye my hair or have any piercings (except for a pair in my ears). And I’m addicted to reading which is relatively harmless compared to drugs or alcohol. I tell the truth.
However, I may or may not be the kind of girl who lets her parents assume that she’s doing what they want (even if she isn’t) and I might be a little addicted to the internet…just a little. And I have the feeling that, if I actually said what I thought all the time I wouldn’t be considered a good girl any more.

I know a lot of people and I don’t know anyone who is blessed angel good. Sometimes they’re good at hiding that the fact they’re quick with insults or sometimes they don’t even bother to hide the fact that they’re not even close to being Miss Perfect.
On one level, I sort of admire the second group of people and I sort of pity them too. They’re brave enough to do stuff which is not necessarily considered ‘good’ and it frees them from a lot of expectations. But at the same time it bars them from a lot of opportunities and people are generally a lot less willing to hand over responsibility to the ‘bad girls’.

I guess there are both pros and cons to being a in the closet bad girl versus just a bad girl. However, to make use of a cliché, don’t change yourself for anyone but yourself. If you’re unhappy with the things you do, the way you act or the way you look-it’s perfectly okay to change. But if it’s because someone makes you feel uncomfortable or ashamed about the things that you do or the way that you look -think very, very hard before changing. Ask yourself, if 10 years later, ‘Will I regret changing myself?’

So here are five Books for all the Good Girls who haven’t been caught (In other words, the bad girls who’re still in the closet):

  1. Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell
    A classic that’s surprisingly good. Ball gowns, war and marriage for gain- what’s not to like?
  2. Perfect Chemistry by Simon Elkeles
    There’s something about the other side of the tracks which is irresistible to a good girl hiding behind a façade.
  3. Unwind by Neal Shusterman
    Even an orphan and music prodigy can do questionable things when on the run from an insane government.
  4. Goodbye Rebel Blue by Corielle Shelley
    This is actually a bit different from the other books. It’s a bout a bad girl going through a good girl’s bucket-list.
  5. Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas
    She’s so much worse than you thought…

Gone with the WindPerfect Chemistry (Perfect ...Unwind (Unwind, #1)Goodbye, Rebel BlueDangerous Girls

Leave a Reply

