The YA 24 of 2014

As soon as Christmas is over, the people around me become almost disgusting nostalgic. Um…and maybe me too.

This year was full of disappointments ones which made me cry and wallow in self-pity. There were a couple of embarrassing moments here and there (probably more than I remember since I have a tendency to block out the bad stuff). But then there were those awesome moments where I met some pretty amazing people or where I laughed so hard, I probably sounded like a beached whale. And looking back at those memories, I kind of wish I could go back to them.

Since 2013, I’ve got the time to collect 31557600 seconds, 365 days, 52 weeks, 12 months or 1 year (however you want to put it)  worth of memories. I have photos to remind myself but like the quote below says,

 You can never truly go back too a time when you were happy.
– Ella Enchanted, Gail Carson Levine

So I’ve resigned myself to treasuring the memories…Unless you’re willing to lend me that secret time machine hiding in your basement; I swear I won’t use it for evil.

Books however, are a whole different ballgame. They are something which can be reread over and over again (providing that they’re good enough). And sometimes, they’re even better the second time around.

This year, I read 811 books. I’ve made a list of my top 24.

Like always, they’re not in any particular order. Also, please note that these books are ones that I have READ in 2014- not necessarily ones published in 2014

  1. Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan
  2. by Alexandra Bracken
  3. Midnight Thief by Livia Blackburne
  4. Written in Red by Anne Bishop
  5. Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor
  6. Exquisite Captive by Helen Demetrios
  7. Young Elites by Marie Lu
  8. Sisters Fate by Jessica Spotswood
  9. Sacrifice by Brigid Kemmerer
  10. How to Lead A Life of Crime by Kristen Miller
  11. Catalyst by Laurie Hale Anderson
  12. Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly
  13. Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen
  14. Effortless With You by Lizzy Charles
  15. On the Fence by Kasie West
  16. Beauty Queens by Libba Bray
  17. Cracked by Eliza Crewe
  18. Making Faces by Amy Harmon
  19. Between Shades of Grey by Ruta Septys
  20. Don’t Breath a Word by Holly Cupala
  21. Heist Society by Ally Carter
  22. To All the Boys I ‘ve Loved Before by Jenny Han
  23. Duff (Designated Ugly Fat Friend) by Kody Keplinger
  24. Hate List by Jennifer Brown

So this is looking back at 2014. Next post will be about looking forward to 2015 and New Year Resolutions

Leave a Reply

