Confronting Change: A reponse to Mountain Dew’s #RiseAgainstFear Challenge

” Do one thing everyday that scares you.”

Ever since I did a project on Eleanor Roosevelt in 3rd grade, she’s been a role-model. She was charismatic, fearless and bold- all things that I want to be (but I desperately fear I’m not).  I’ve done my best to follow this quote.

Doing one thing everyday that scares you can be a daunting task, but like all tasks, it gets easier with practice. I’ve deliberately pushed myself into doing things which scare me; stepping out of my comfort zone in tiny steps.

If you include pre-kg and nursery schools, I’ve been to 10 different schools. Considering I’m in 10th grade, that’s pretty impressive (or weird- you choose). Sometimes I switch schools despite the fact that I’m living in the same city. It’s all part of the master plan: to confront change.

Change is something that, by definition, humans are scared of. But it’s true- Nothing in life is certain but death and taxes. So, I guess it’s up to us to get ourselves used to change, to learn how to cope with our life altering.

“Things change. And friends leave. Life doesn’t stop for anybody.”
– The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Changing schools frequently is my attempt to get used to change. Every time I switch schools, I desperately miss friends (who promise to keep in touch and are actually pretty good at keeping their promises) and am overwhelmed by the thought of having to make new friends, deal with new teachers  and starting over again with a tabula rasa (blank slate). Does it get easier after 10 switches? No- not really. Every school is different, with different groups of people and different priorities and while I’m acclimatizing to it, I face a lot of uncertainty. There are tears, there are regrets and of course, there’s second guessing. For the first few months (sometimes a whole year), I’m constantly wondering “Did I make the right choice.”

I still don’t know. It’s impossible to guess what might have been (I think Aslan said something similar in Prince Caspian). But then along with the tears there is laughter to balance it out and with the old regrets come new and great friends. Every school and every set of friends and teachers has helped me shape who I am- for better or for worse.

Change is scary and the idea of confronting it is even scarier but I promise it gets easier. Change  is inevitable and it’s something we have to learn how to deal with.

“You can’t stop the future
You can’t rewind the past
The only way to learn the secret
…is to press play.”
– Thirteen Reasons Why

Change and overcoming the fear which comes with change is a major theme in young-adult books. Here are a couple of must-reads about change and about learning how to overcome it.

  1. What Happened to Goodbye by Sarah Dessen
  2. If You Come Softly by Jacqueline Woodson
  3. Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan
  4. Hatelist by Jennifer Brown
  5. Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

These books will inspire you to  go ahead. Confront change; Rise above your fears.

This post was in response to the Mountain Dew challenge #RiseAboveFear.
Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/mountaindewindia
Video: Warning the video is not in English

Leave a Reply

