The Journey of Our Love: A Poem

For your sake and mine, take this bitter-sweet journey

Start at the plaza where you first saw me.

Turn a sharp right after about a mile,

At the place where you first made me smile.

Duck under those sweet-smelling boughs

Where I first asked you out,so

Sure that I’d get a ‘yes’ not a ‘no’.

Walk along that tired path you’d miss

Unless you clearly remember our first kiss.

Take a left at that old willow tree

Where you and me first become we.

And try to close your eyes as you pace

Past the place I fell from your grace.

And once you think that wretched place is gone,

Open your eyes and I’ll be there waiting

For you to finish your walk down memory lane,

And to beg you to take me back again.

Leave a Reply

