Compare and Contrast (Female YA characters)

This is the first post in a series of posts of Comparisons and Contrasts in YA.

This one will feature female strong female characters from some of the most famous YA series ever: Abhorsen, Divergent and A Song of Ice and Fire.

I grew up on Garth Nix’s books people. The Abhorsen series (also known as the Old Kingdom series)  features some of the most honestly strong female characters I have ever seen. These book were probably the catalyst that  helped me take my first steps towards feminism (I’m still moving there.)

Beatrice Prior, Divergent- I loved watching her take destiny into her own hands. Watching her confront her deepest fears and learn how to handle knives and guns was pretty inspiring

A Song of Ice and Fire is a series that I have wanted to read for a long, long time. Truth is, the book intimidates me. For one thing, it’s an epic fantasy. I don’t have a very good history with epic fantasy, (except for the possible exception of Throne of Glass which is more like epic chick lit fantasy). For another, the book is supposed to be very…mature; more new adult than young adult.  But I’ve heard so many good things about this series, I will read it sooner or later. (Probably later.)

What do the Old Kingdom series, A Song of Ice and Fire and Divergent have in common? more importantly, what separates Clariel, Tris and Arya from each other?

Disclaimer: This work of art is not mine. It belongs to Booki Vivat, assistant publisher at Harper Collins)

You can follow her on Twitter.

A Venn Diagram of Some of the Most Powerful Female Characters in YA

Leave a Reply

