Best Book Dedications

Um…yeah. You read that right. This post is going to be about book dedications or acknowledgements. Whatever you want to call them.

Usually I don’t pay much attention to the book dedications. I mean, if I’m opening a book I’m interested in the story and the characters. Not who the author loves and how they helped them come up with book, etc. But there are some dedications which caught my eye. Here’s a list.

1.) Abundance of Katherines by John Green.

I may not like the guy’s books but even I have to say An Abundance of Katherines is pretty cute. The main character is a guy who really loves anagrams (and constantly uses them), so that makes this dedication prettycool in context.



2.) The House of Hades by Rick Riordan

After the Mark of Athena ended with a cliffhanger with our favorite couple going to Hell-literally, fans all over the world cried, screamed and freaked out in general. Rick Riordan replied in his next book via dedication:


3.) The Deathly Hallows by J K Rowling

Yes! It’s in the shape of Harry’s scar and we finally find out why it’s so important and terrible in this book

4.) The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain

One of the first books I ever read- but I have to say dedications don’t get much better than this:

Persons attempting to find a motive in this narrative will be prosecuted; persons attempting to find a moral in it will be banished; persons attempting to find a plot in it will be shot.
BY ORDER OF THE AUTHOR.


5.)  Otherland by Tad Williams

This isn’t from a single book but from a series which I haven’t actually read but I’m including this because I can kind of relate to this; my Dad definitely doesn’t read fiction- if, no when, I publish a book, he probably wouldn’t read it. Plus the dedication’s completely hilarious.

“This Book is dedicated to my father Joseph Hill Evans with love.
Actually Dad doesn’t read fiction, so if someone doesn’t tell him about this, he’ll never know.”

“This Book is dedicated to my father Joseph Hill Evans with love.
As I said before, Dad doesn’t read fiction. He still hasn’t noticed that this thing is dedicated to him. This is Volume Two – let’s see how many more until he catches on.”

“This is still dedicated to you-know-who, even if he doesn’t.
Maybe we can keep this a secret all the way to the final volume.”

“My father still hasn’t actually cracked any of the books – so, no, he still hasn’t noticed. I think I’m just going to have to tell him. Maybe I should break it to him gently.

“Everyone here who hasn’t had a book dedicated to them, take three steps forward. Whoops, Dad, hang on there for a second…”


6.) The End (Series of Unfortunate Events #13) by Lemony Snicket

So because technically I cheated by adding a series that I’ve never read, I’m addign this one too.

This series will always have a special place in my heart. It taught me how to use the term ‘quid pro quo’ properly, the meaning of ambidexterious and how to recite Swineburn- all at the age of eight making people (ncorrectly) think I was a bit of a child prodigy. The last book in the series began beautifully  like this:

For Beatrice –
I cherished, you perished.
The world’s been nightmarished.


So these are my favorite dedications. What are yours?

One thought on “Best Book Dedications

  1. Pingback: Writers Inspiration: Neil Gaiman | Plot Holes be Gone

Leave a Reply

