Angelfall by Susan Ee

Angelfall: A Book Review

Angelfall by Susan Ee

Book : Angelfall
Author/Authoress: Susan Ee

Cover: 3/5
Yes, it’s a pretty cover but it doesn’t really say much about the book.

Setting: 4/5
The book’s set in a dark futuristic Bay Area over run by angels where humans have to struggle to survive. Maybe I’m a bit biased since I’ve lived there, but I could actually imagine what the ruins of San Fransisco would look like. You can see that there’s a serious food shortage. At one point, our protagonists eat cat food. Susan Ee’s a genius for repeatedly referring to the regression in technology.

Plot:  4.5/5
(Taken from goodreads.com)
It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.
Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

Characters: 5/5
5/5’s are going to be very rare for me but the characters have earned this rating and more. Penryn has a very good reason for being bad-ass and it doesn’t even seem forced. She’s willing to do whatever it takes to save her sister ( Got a  Hunger Games flashback, didn’t you) and resents her mom slightly (double Hunger Games flashback). Her mom is a paranoid schizophrenic and she acts the part really well. Even underneath all the craziness, you can tell she really loves her girls. The sister starts the series off as a young, innocent girl. At one point, Penryn refers to her as a budding Dalai Lama. She’s probably the character who changes most in the series; but I can’t tell you much more without giving spoilers.  Raffe is the new Jace but so much cooler. For one, he’s not that arrogant and for another he has much better banter.

“My friends call me Wrath,” says Raffe. “My enemies call me Please Have Mercy. What’s your name, soldier boy?”

You can almost see Penryn growing on him throughout the book. More on that in Romance.We have a couple of original characters called Tweedledee and Tweedledum (I kid you not!) and like their names suggest, they are hilarious.

Romance: 5/5
The romance gets full marks for being gradual. I’m so glad Penryn doesn’t start lusting after Raffe immediately. Instead the buildup’s pretty gradual. First they’re enemies, then they’re reluctant co-conspirators. They’re not even friends until halfway through the book. When the eventual kiss comes, it’s better for how long they’ve waited. In my opinion, the lack of insta-romance makes for a better story, a more believable one for sure.

Technical Terms: 4/5
There are only few new terms (like Nephailliam and Aerie ) which are defined in this book. Even then, these terms are fairly common in other books. You can understand the whole book even without knowing a lot about Angels or the area,

Cliffhanger: 3/5
The book ends on a semi-positive note with no major deaths. However Penryn and Raffe are separated and everybody’s under the (mistaken) impression that Penryn’s dead.

“I never thought about it before, but I’m proud to be human. We’re ever so flawed. We’re frail, confused, violent, and we struggle with so many issues. But all in all, I’m proud to be a Daughter of Man.”

Action:5/5
This book has sseveral fight scenes which are vividly described. Susan Ee not only tells us how Penryn fights, she tells us why Penry fights that way. I have never been so blown away by the action. I’d give it 10/5 if I could.

Plotholes:
There are none so far but this is the first book. There’s still time.

Overall Rating: 4.75/5
Give it a chance, it’s a great book to read. A little macabre, maybe but I’d say anyone over the age of 13 can enjoy this book.

69 thoughts on “Angelfall: A Book Review

  1. Nice post. I was checking constantly this weblog and I’m impressed!
    Extremely helpful info specially the last section 🙂 I take care of
    such info a lot. I used to be looking for this certain info for a very
    long time. Thanks and best of luck.

    Like

  2. I’ve been exploring for a little bit for any high quality
    articles or weblog posts on this sort of house . Exploring
    in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this site.
    Reading this info So i’m happy to exhibit that I’ve an incredibly just right uncanny
    feeling I found out exactly what I needed.
    I such a lot surely will make certain to don?t put out of
    your mind this site and provides it a look on a relentless basis.

    Like

  3. What i don’t realize is in truth how you are now not actually a lot more neatly-favored than you
    might be right now. You are very intelligent. You realize therefore significantly on the subject of this topic, made me in my view believe it from numerous
    various angles. Its like men and women don’t seem to
    be involved unless it’s one thing to accomplish with Lady gaga!

    Your individual stuffs outstanding. At all times deal with it
    up!

    Like

  4. Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it, you
    might be a great author. I will remember to bookmark your
    blog and may come back later on. I want to encourage one
    to continue your great writing, have a nice afternoon!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Plot Holes be Gone

  6. Pingback: Why Do We Love the Characters We Do? | Plot Holes be Gone

  7. Pingback: Palo Alto: I’ve Been Here 2 Weeks Now | Plot Holes be Gone

Leave a Reply

